Channel Island Liquor Co

United Kingdom

Channel Island Liquor Co

United Kingdom, Island of Guernsey and Jersey

The Distillery

As a chef, Luke has always been focused on flavours. It was precisely through his job that he developed a keen sense for nuances in taste and flavours. Now that he has become the hotelier of the beautiful "Bella Luce Hotel" and spent less and less time in the kitchen, he was looking for a new way to experiment with flavours. The idea of having his own distillery behind the hotel bar was almost obvious, especially since his family had been involved in the trade and production of alcohol for over 100 years. So Luke first experimented with small kettles until he decided to get the 230L Müller AROMAT.
Of course, the location on the island of Guernsey also plays a decisive role in the creation of his products. The rock samphire - also called sea fennel - is picked off the cliffs of the island itself. As a hotel guest at the Bella Luce Hotel, you can regularly look over Luke's shoulder while distilling and learn a lot about distillation.
Wheadons Gin has become very successful so that Luke decided to get another 350L AROMAT on the neighboring island of Jersey. In addition to another Gin, the “Indica Rum” is also being distilled in small batches.

Pot Stills

"Old Nick" - 230 liter AROMAT on the Island of Guernsey

350 liter AROMAT + 2 rectification plates on the Island of Jersey

Products

Wheadons Gin

Indica Rum

Pink Granite Gin

Channel Island Liquor Co

Großbritannien

Channel Island Liquor Co

Großbritannien, Insel Guernsey und Insel  Jersey

Über die Brennerei

Als Chefkoch war Luke schon immer fokussiert auf Aromen. Gerade durch seinen Beruf entwickelte er ein ausgeprägtes Gespür für Nuancen im Geschmack und „Flavours“. Nachdem er inzwischen zum Hotelier des wunderschönen „Bella Luce Hotel“ wurde und immer weniger in der Küche stand, war er auf der Suche nach einer neuen Art mit Aromen zu experimentieren. Die Idee mit der eigenen Brennerei hinter der Hotelbar war da fast naheliegend, zumal seine Familie schon seit über 100 Jahren in den Handel und die Herstellung von Alkohol involviert war. So experimentierte Luke zuerst mit kleinen Kesselchen, bis er sich für den 230L MÜLLER AROMAT entschied.
Bei der Kreation seiner Produkte spielt natürlich auch der Standort auf der Insel Guernsey eine entscheidende Rolle. Der Rock Samphire – oder auch Meeresfenchel genannt – wird an den Klippen der Insel selbst gepflückt. Als Hotelgast des Bella Luce Hotels kann man Luke regelmäßig beim Brennen über die Schulter schauen und dabei vieles über die Destillation lernen.
Wheadons Gin ist inzwischen so erfolgreich, dass sich Luke für einen weiteren 350L AROMAT auf der Nachbarinsel Jersey entschieden hat. Dort wird neben einem weiteren Gin auch der Indica Rum in kleinen Batches gebrannt.

Brennereianlagen

“Old Nick” – 230 Liter AROMAT auf der Insel Guernsey

350 Liter AROMAT + 2 Böden auf der Insel Jersey

Produkte

Wheadons Gin

Indica Rum

Pink Granite Gin